Ffiondavies’s Blog

Brynglas Road Aged 9-14

Posted in Uncategorized by ffiondavies on December 17, 2008

dsc_1517

Yesterday, I visited the third staircase from my childhood, Brynglas Road in Llanbadarn.  This experience wasn’t as surreal as the first staircase, and felt happy as soon as I entered the hall way.  Immediately as you step through the front door you are met by the staircase.

The hallway is tiny, probably about the size of a large pizza box flattened on the floor….you would have to let the person in, make then stand to the left, then shut the door then they could enter the living room, It was that small.

 

Immediately I had memories of sitting on the stairs talking to my friends for hours on the phone.  Sitting on the stairs with my friend Eve, swapping shoes and stories….

Sitting at the top of the stairs late at night after having a nightmare, and my brother shouting at me to get out of his room, when all I wanted was a hug…sob

I felt the feeling of being alone on the landing late at night when everyone else is fast asleep, a lonely feeling, that makes you think you’re the only person in the whole world who’s awake.

dsc_1513

Leave a comment